Fulp Moravian Church was first started as a Sunday School on May 14, 1893 by Brother James T. Lineback at a meeting place known as Fulp’s Schoolhouse. Twenty-eight were enrolled the first Sunday and an additional thirty were added the second Sunday. Brother Lineback would rider the Norfolk and Western train to Walnut Cove on Saturday and spend Saturday evenings singing songs that were to be used at Sunday School the next day.
The organization of the church began when Dr. Elias Fulp promised land for the church and graveyard. Prior to the establishment of the church, Brothers James T. Lineback, Woosley and C. D. Couch held a series of evangelistic services. On November 11, 1893 Brother Woosley received 12 charter members of Fulp Moravian Church – seven by adult baptism, one by confirmation, and four by letter of transfer from other churches. These first services were conducted in a brush arbor erected in front of the schoolhouse. The arbor had a seating capacity for 350 people.
The first building was 30X 50 feet with an annex in the rear for primary classes. The cornerstone was laid on August 9, 1894. This building was completed in October and was consecrated on October 28, 1894. The church was built under the supervision of Dr. Elias Fulp with the cost being around $1,000.00, of which $495.00 was contributed by members and friends of the Fulp congregation. The Graveyard (God’s Acre) was consecrated after the first funeral – that of sister Melissa E. Powell on December 4, 1894.
For the first 74 years of Fulp’s existence, they shared pastors with other congregations, but in 1967 the church decided to strike out on its own. Reverend John Fry was called to be their first full-time pastor. In order to raise money for a down-payment for a parsonage for the new pastor, several fields of tobacco were grown by the members of the congregation. The church parsonage was built and was dedicated on July 23, 1967. In 1972 Fulp Moravian took a big leap of faith with the purchase and erection of the Fellowship Hall. Much of the material for this building was taken down and transported from High Point, N.C. to its present location. The Fellowship Hall was completed enough that on November 12, 11972 it was consecrated for Fulp’s 79th anniversary. These buildings are the fruit of many, many hours and weeks of life, sweat and labor by the faithful members of Fulp Moravian Church.
In the 1980’s another expansion too place with new offices and bathrooms, a Choir Room, a Parlor, and a new Choir Loft being added to the existing sanctuary.
In November 1993 Fulp celebrated its 100th anniversary of God’s work being done in the community.
The Moravian Church (or Unitas Fratrum [Unity of the Brethren] as it has been officially known since 1457) is recognized as the oldest Protestant denomination. We are an evangelical Protestant denomination committed to keeping our focus on serving Jesus Christ in the World. The Bible, our love for Jesus, and the guidance of the Holy Spirit are seen as essential to the life of a Christian. Moravians emphasize faith as being more of a heart experience rather than a head experience, and a personal experience of God’s love rather than abstract doctrinal arguments and theological foundations. The Moravian Church practices a simple, yet meaningful, approach to faith and life that seeks to emphasize Christian faith, hope and love. Our faith identity is as Christians, followers of Christ, who are affiliated with the Moravian Church as a way of living and expressing our Christian faith. We are Christian first, then Moravians.
While the Moravian Church has it’s own rich history, we recognize no distinction between those who have claimed Jesus Christ as their own personal Savior and Lord.
Men and women, young and old, who are led by the Holy Spirit are invited to join our fellowship of believers and to use their spiritual gifts and talents to assist in deepening one’s own relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ, to have fellowship with other believers, and to seek to spread the Gospel of Christ’s salvation to others. Welcome to what has often been called the Church of the Heart.